• My Nearest City

Event

Online, 8pm EDT, 5pm PST

March 8, 2021

8:00 pm To 9:00 pm

The AntiRacist Table will be hosting the “Queen of Black Historical Romance, author Beverly Jenkins in a discussion regarding her novels and how she celebrates Blackness and diversity in historical romance. Ms. Read more…

Zoom event: 7:00 pm CT/8:00 pm ET

March 9, 2021

5:00 pm To 6:30 pm

In conjunction with the CAAM exhibition, Enunciated Life, author Deesha Philyaw discusses her latest book, The Secret Lives of Church Ladies. A National Book Award Finalist for Fiction, The Secret Lives of Church Ladies offers a series of short stories about Black women, faith, and desire. Read more…

Online event: 9:00 am CT/10:00 am ET

March 9, 2021 To May 27, 2021

7:00 am To 8:00 am

Black Arts Retreat is kicking off the year with an exploration of the book Think and Grow Rich: A Black Choice by Dennis Kimbro and Napoleon Hill. Read more…

Online event: 1:00 pm CT/2:00 pm ET

March 9, 2021

11:00 am To 12:00 pm

A humorous and heartwarming bounce-to-the-beat underdog story about a young rapper whose rhymes help bring his community together. Eleven-year-old Simon Barnes dreams of becoming a world-famous rapper that everyone calls Notorious D.O.G. Read more…

Online-Zoom, 12:30pm EDT, 9:30am PST

March 9, 2021 To June 22, 2021

12:30 pm To 2:00 pm

Enjoy a 90-minute virtual walking tour of London, highlighting 6 sites where African American activists made an important impact on the British landscape. Read more…